Announcements

Good evening,

I hope that my students are enjoying Spring Break and I am sorry for the family members who have to continue working! I cannot say enough about the concert this past Thursday! The students were professional, focused, and sounded amazing! I have heard many great things about their performance and how they carried themselves that entire night. I am so proud of each and every one of the students. Congratulations on another fantastic concert.

There is a concert tomorrow night at the University of West Georgia. Just like the last concert that I performed in, the first portion is the Symphonic Band and the second portion is the Brass Ensemble. The brass ensemble portion contains a solo by the trombone professor the University of Florida which may excite some of our low brass palyers. I was thrilled to see some students in the audience at the last concert and would love to have them hearing not only me play in a professional setting, but hear other extremely talented individuals performing on their instruments. Info is posted below:

Symphonic Band and Brass Ensemble: Cale Self, conductor
Friday, February 24, 2017 • 7:30 PM
Townsend Center for the Performing Arts
Free admission

—————————————————————————————————————————————

Now that our concert season has relaxed I would like to really encourage students to consider taking private lessons on their instrument. This is an opportunity to really enhance their skills and understanding of their instrument with someone who is specialized on their specific instrument. Private lessons can be used for students who feel that they are behind or students that need an extra challenge. The job of the private lesson instructor is to meet your student where they are at and help them grow while learning to love their instrument!

If your student is competitive than they will want to know that students who take private lessons tend to place higher in rankings at the Junior High for chair placements and in competitions such as District Honor Band and All- State. Competitions such as DHB and All State are great items to put on your resume as you apply to colleges later high school. Colleges love seeing students take the initiative to grow in a subject outside of the school day and they even offer scholarships for students to play in their ensembles. I took private lessons in 9th grade all the way through college and regretted not beginning earlier. They completely changed my playing and especially my work ethic, which I have carried on with me into other areas of my life. I have attached a list of instructors that I trust who will charge fairly low prices and who will be flexible to meet the needs of you and your student. They can work with your child once a week or once every few weeks, whatever works best for you! Please let me know if you have any questions and take advantage of the outstanding musicians in our area at the University of West Georgia and beyond.

Mary Kathryn Newton, flute
Amari Jimenez, flute
Mariana Fraire, oboe
Jourdan Speesen, bassoon
Kyle Willoughby, clarinet
Kristen Greenstein, clarinet
David Jones, saxophone
Alex Payne, saxophone
Michaela Wilkinson, horn
Jules Antoine, horn
Thomas Frost, trumpet
Zoe Kriegel, trumpet
Erik Payton, trombone
Keidis Smith, trombone
Wesley Grace, tuba
Luke Bass, tuba
Emma Eddleman, percussion
Martez Stroud, percussion
Emily Olson, percussion
Mary Kathryn Newton <nmarykathryn@gmail.com>, Amari Jimenez <ajimene3@my.westga.edu>, Mariana Fraire <mfraire1@my.westga.edu>, Jourdan Speessen <jourdan010698@gmail.com>, Kyle Willoughby <kwillou1@my.westga.edu>, Kristen Greenstein <kgreens1@my.westga.edu>, David Jones <djones23@my.westga.edu>, Alexander Payne <apayne8@my.westga.edu>, Michaela Wilkinson <mwilkin6@my.westga.edu>, Jules Antoine <jantoin1@my.westga.edu>, Thomas Frost <tfrost1@my.westga.edu>, Zoe Kriegel <Zkriege1@my.westga.edu>, Erik Payton <Epayton1@my.westga.edu>, Keidis Smith <ksmith70@my.westga.edu>, Wesley Grace <wgrace1@my.westga.edu>, Luke Bass <Lbass4@my.westga.edu>, Emma Eddleman <eeddlem1@my.westga.edu>, Martez Stroud <mstroud1@my.westga.edu>, Emily Olson <eolson1@my.westga.edu>
I have so much love for the students and families that surround this program. Thank you for your constant support and have a wonderful evening.
Sincerely,
Ms. Menendez

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s